top of page

DJ ANGEL FIGUEROA

ENCANTO TROPICAL

Top | DetailsArchives | Replay | Charts

Ecanto Tropical, World Salsa Radio: DJ Angel Figueroa

Encanto Tropical is a two-hour radio show of salsa music. Hosted by Japan-based DJ Angel Figueroa, it is one of several programs offered by World Salsa Radio, an internet radio station for Latin music enthusiasts. It broadcasts every 2nd and 4th Thursday, 05:00 Pacific (Standard and Daylight Savings). That's 21:00 or 22:00 Japan Time. Episodes appear in one of four formats, as follows. 

Encanto Tropical salsa & more 1000.jpg

1) Spotlight

Featured are 4 spotlights of 3 songs each about newly-released salsa, Latin music by Japanese artists, cover songs of Cuban classics, and a guest's song choices (following their interview). An introductory mix precedes the spotlights.​

2) Theme

This focuses on a certain topic for the entire show.

3) Mix

Making up the show is a selection of random songs.

4) Guest Interview

A talk with a guest is preceded and followed by a mix of songs; the guest chooses a selection of 3 songs.

All episodes are available for replay in the Archives.

Formats
How to listen

To tune in live, click on the image below. Then click the play button. Wait a few seconds for it to load. Enjoy!

Screen Shot 2022-07-14 at 21.00.47.png

Chat Room

To join the chat, create a username in the white ChatRoom box (below the yellow player). Be sure to say "hi!"

Mixer Desk

Encanto Tropical

DJ Headphones

SalsA
radio

www.WorldSalsaRadio.com

2nd & 4th Thursdays

 

22:00日本時間 (12:00 UTC)*

5am Pacific / 8am Eastern

13:00 UK / 14:00 Central Europe

*NOTE:

[Standard Time: 21:00 / Daylight Savings Time: 22:00]

Latest

Latest SHOW

34

Mambongo Replay

Feb 8 2024 

My recorded gig at Mambongo Social in Tokyo on April 6 comprises the backbone of Episode 34, which is a mix of vintage and contemporary salsa. All the bachata and kizomba has been edited out.

(29 tracks, 1:59:24) 

Encanto Tropical 34 wh 1000.jpg

Upcoming SHOW

Next
Encanto Tropical 35 wh 500.jpg

35

Fania Records: 60 Years

April 25

In 1964, Fania Records was founded. Its drive, vision, and  and impact on the burgeoning Latin music scene in the USA and beyond was incredible. Many regard the first decades of Fania as the golden years of the musical style that was to become known as salsa. This was not without controversy, but the incredible talent and work of the artists under this label deserves recognition.

In Episode 34, I go over several signature songs from Fania that influenced my growth as a salsa DJ.

WSR Set

Recent PostS

CHARTS

Encanto Tropical Monthly Picks.jpg

RECOMMENDED SALSA

Monthly song charts list ten great examples of recently-released contemporary salsa music. These choices are based on a Spotify playlist that is a collaborative project with a colleague in France: DJ Rem.

wsr 3y set 1 - Angel.jpg

3rd anniversary Set

salsa from 2021-2023

July 15 2023

My set kicked off the 3 Year Anniversary Fundraising event for World Salsa Radio. It is great to be a part of the DJ team! For this one hour session, my playlist is made of 11 preferred tunes from the last three years. Donations are welcome at any time!

(56:47, 11 tracks)

Charts
bottom of page