AbouT

As a music-lover, I find meaning and fulfillment from arranging soundscapes to engage audiences.

 

Whether for dancers or casual listeners, the thrill of programming and mixing a selection of music motivates me to further explore, share, and grow as a DJ.

 

Schedule

313970688_613798160544040_1891586085376385049_n.jpg

Dec 3 (Sat)

Mambongo - Mambo Special

STUDIO PEPE, Roppongi, Tokyo

Details

Carib Lounge 2022.jpg

Dec 24 (Sat)

Carib Lounge Christmas Eve

CART STAND POND, Oyumino, Chiba

Details TBA

Dec 30 (Fri)

Latin Lounge

Feat. Yacel Sagarra live concert

CASABLANCA, Kobe

Details TBA

Jan 6 (Fri)

Latin Digs (All Vinyl)

HACHI RECORD SHOP & BAR, Kyoto

Details TBA

317849877_10158418775641627_987262726580034883_n.jpg

Jan 7 (Sat)

Pegao Social New Year's Sp

(Guest DJ)

Voxx, Osaka

Details

Jan 20 (Fri)

NaoMasa踊らNight @Pepe

(Guest DJ)

STUDIO PEPE, Tokyo

Details TBA

 
 

RADIO

Encanto Tropical SoundCloud 1000.jpg

Encanto Tropical

Every 2nd and 4th Thursday

 

22:00 Japan

05:00 PT / 08:00 ET

13:00 GMT / 14:00 CET

(Standard Time)

"Encanto Tropical" is for the salsa enthusiast -- one of several shows hosted by World Salsa Radio. The two-hour show includes four spotlights featuring 3 songs each:

  • Newly-released salsa

  • Latin music by Japanese artists

  • Covers of Cuban classics

  • Featured guest with song selection

See the Program Description for more information. All episodes are available for replay.

WSR logo.png

Check out WorldSalsaRadio.com for information on the many available shows broadcast daily by the team of DJs.

LATEST SHOW:

Episode 16 (Nov 24 2022)

Special Feature: Latin Japan in Focus

Details

UPCOMING SHOW:

Episode 17 (Dec 8 2022)

Guest: Bongohead

Details

IMG_9734.jpg

NOTE

From Nov 10, the show starts at 22:00 in Japan due to the switch to Standard Time elsewhere. 

 

お知らせ

夏時間から標準時への変更に伴い、放送開始時刻が、 日本時間では22:00スタートなりました。

 

Recent dj posts

 

SPOTIFY Charts

*Note: This is a collaborative playlist with DJ Rem.

 

MIXES

Latest MIX

 

selected MIXES

(See the Mixes page for more)

Salsa

Salsa Cubana & Traditional Cuban

All-Latin

African

Electronic

Club Jazz

 
 
 
 

Instagram

 
 

VideoS

 

Gallery

1/6

PROFILE

 
IMG_5620 3.jpg

Born in Jamaica and raised in Canada to music-loving parents of Jamaican and Cuban origin, Angel Figueroa grew up in a household where music was always playing on the stereo—especially Caribbean music.

Angel started deejaying in Seoul, Korea, at the bar “Macondo” in 1996. Later, he continued as a DJ and event organizer in Osaka, Japan. He organized and deejayed at a monthly social called “Shine”, which ran for 17 years. Known for his attention to detail and for building DJ sets with eclectic and rare Latin grooves, he aspires to spin for both strict dancers and perceptive listeners.

Although Angel focuses on salsa, interests include other Latin genres, as well as afrobeat, electronica, and club jazz. As a veteran salsa DJ, he has deejayed around Japan, especially in Osaka, but is now based near Tokyo. International appearances include Los Angeles, Hong Kong, Canada, Amsterdam, and Taipei. He also works in radio as the host of "Encanto Tropical" on World Salsa Radio -- every 2nd and 4th Thursday.